Highland Hospital Honors Providers of the Year

Highland Hospital has recently honored Sunil Bansal as its physician of the year and Andrea Avidano as advanced practice provider of the year.

Bansal is assistant medical director and ultrasound director in the department of emergency medicine at Highland. He is also an assistant professor of clinical emergency medicine, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. The Pittsford resident was nominated for the prestigious award, also called Distinguished Physician, by administrators, colleagues and other co workers for healthcare excellence.

“I’m truly honored to be selected for this award,” said Bansal. “Highland Hospital has been my sole place of practice for nearly 10 years. It is the collegial and patient-centered environment that allows medical professionals to thrive. I’m proud to practice at Highland Hospital emergency department, and look forward to many more years to come.”

Bansal received nominations from several colleagues. One of them was Timothy Lum, chief of emergency medicine at Highland. “I personally regard him as one of the finest, most skilled physicians with whom I have ever worked,” said Lum. “He embodies the highest virtues of our profession and I am proud to be his colleague.

Previous recipients of the award include physicians: Tulsi Dass, Bilal Ahmed, Theodore Hirokawa, Jeffrey Harp, Daniel Mendelson, Alice Taylor, Joseph Nicholas, Melissa Schiff, David Holub, Youngrin Kim, Cynthia Angel, and Ashish Boghani.

Advanced Practice Provider Andrea Avidano has served as an adult nurse practitioner at Highland since 2009. “Highland equals family,” said the Rochester resident. “I love that everyone knows each other. We’re able to share information and show the ICARE values with each other and our patients.”

Avidano was also nominated by several colleagues for the award. “Andrea Avidano is the epitome of professional excellence and behavior,” said Youngrin Kim, chief hospitalist. “She is always very happy and eager to help in her role as an endocrinology consultant. Her clinical judgment is spot on. As a result of her excellent knowledge base, judgement and compassion, our patients and providers at Highland benefit immensely.”

Previous recipients of the APP of the Year Award include: Abby McCarthy, Pamela Heiple, Sheila Marcoccia and Jessica Mahoney.

Photo: Bansal and Avidano